Reading Lists (ages 8-9)

Age 8-9 Recommended Reading List

The following is a recommended list of fiction books for children from 8-9 years old. This list is by no means exhaustive and I would recommend exploring your local bookshops and libraries as well as using this list. Many of the authors on this list have written many more books that I would encourage you to explore and enjoy. The list contains a mixture of both classic storybooks and more modern releases.

 

The Iron Man

By Ted Hughes

Faber & Faber

The story of a creature called the Iron Man who befriends a little boy when he arrives on Earth.

 

The Sword of Herobrine

by Jim Anotsu

Puffin

Arthur’s sister Mallu is obsessed with Minecraft. When a mysterious code sucks her into the Overworld, he has no choice but to follow her. This unofficial fan story has all the thrills and spills of an accessible adventure story.

 

Mega Robo Bros

by Neill Cameron

David Fickling Books

Brothers always find something to fight about. Alex and Freddy are no different – even though they’re also the most powerful robots in the universe.

 

The Scarlet Files: Cat Burglar

by Tamsin Cooke

Oxford University Press

Scarlet McCall is schoolgirl by day and a cat burglar by night. Her father has taught her to help him burgle houses and return artefacts to their rightful owners. When her father vanishes she must use all the skills he…

 

How to Fight a Dragon’s Fury

by Cressida Cowell

Hodder

This is the final instalment in the How to Train Your Dragon series and it packs an emotional punch. It brings together every adventure Hiccup and his friends have had, as well as reintroducing old characters and tying up loose…

 

Smart About Sharks

by Owen Davey

Flying Eye

Presenting an ever-popular topic, this fantastic, high quality illustrated book is fascinating and attractive.

 

Superhero Street

by Phil Earle

Orion Children’s Books

Superhero Street is a heartwarming and laugh-out-loud read that celebrates mums as the everyday superheroes they are. Sara Ogilvie’s illustrations add an even more warm, hilarious background to Earle’s realistic family.

 

The Many Worlds of Albie Bright

by Christopher Edge

Nosy Crow

A son of two scientists, it’s only natural that Albie uses quantum theory when his mum dies, to find a parallel universe where she’s still alive. Considering the topics covered, it’s a light read that even reluctant readers might be…

 

The Bubble Boy

by Stewart Foster

Simon and Schuster

Joe has always lived in a sterile room in a hospital. He’s the ‘bubble boy’: documented on TV because of a rare condition, affecting his immune system, that keeps him vacuum-packed from the rest of society.

 

The Bone Sparrow

by Zana Fraillon

Orion Children’s Books

Focusing on a friendship between two young refugees, The Bone Sparrow is one of those rare, special books that will break your heart with its honesty and beauty – but is ultimately hopeful and uplifting.

 

The Epic Book of Epicness: The world’s most epic facts in pictures

by Adam Frost

Bloomsbury

In full colour throughout with great, modern design, this book is extremely well written and fun. Every page is full of genuinely fascinating and unusual facts.

 

The Girl of Ink and Stars

by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Chicken House

When her closest friend disappears into the island’s Forgotten Territories, Isabella Riosse volunteers to guide the search. A stunning debut, full of myth, magic and mapmaking.

 

Perijee and Me

by Ross Montgomery

Faber

When 11-year-old Caitlin discovers a shrimp-like alien creature on the shores of her island home, she takes responsibility for teaching it about the world. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Studio Ghibli films.

 

An Eagle in the Snow

by Michael Morpurgo

HarperCollins

Stuck on a train, a boy listens to a stranger’s story about one moment that could have stopped World War II. A thought-provoking story that young history enthusiasts will especially welcome.

 

Wings: Flyboy

by Tom Palmer

Barrington Stoke

On the football field and off it, Jatinder always wants to excel, but he always takes the easy option instead of the risky one. Then Jatinder reads a book by a World War 1 pilot – and finds himself transported…

 

Pax

by Sara Pennypacker

HarperCollins Publishers

Peter’s dad is joining the war, and Peter must leave his pet fox Pax behind. This is a touching story of the bond between a child and his pet, as well as the devastating and often unseen consequences of war.

 

The Wolf Wilder

by Katherine Rundell

Bloomsbury

When the murderous hostility of the Russian Army threatens her very existence, Feo is left with no option but to go on the run. What follows is a story of revolution and adventure, about standing up for the things you…

 

Professor Astro Cat’s Atomic Adventure

by Dr Dominic Walliman and Ben Newman

Flying Eye Books

Laid out beautifully, covering a science topic on each double-page spread, with information in bite-size chunks, this book will give you activities and brain teasers to keep you occupied for hours.

 

The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean in an Armchair

by Lara Williamson

Usborne

Becket Rumsey decides to investigate the reasons behind the strange actions of some of the adults in his life. With the help of his brother Billy and his pet snail Brian, he uncovers some difficult truths – and some beautiful…

 

Rent a Bridesmaid

by Jacqueline Wilson

Doubleday

Tilly’s dream is to be a bridesmaid at her mum and dad’s wedding, but until mum comes back, Tilly decides to offer to be a bridesmaid for hire. Jacqueline Wilson weaves a magical, tale of love, loss, diversity and friendship.

 

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth

by Katherine Woodfine

Egmont

In the follow up to The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow, we are reunited with Sophie, Lil and the rest of the gang, and Woodfine introduces some fantastic new characters. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell, Enid Blyton and Robin…

 

The Midnight Gang

By David Walliams

HarperCollins Publishers

Although most children are fast asleep by the time the clock strikes 12, the Midnight Gang’s adventures are just beginning… Tom has been hit on the head by a cricket ball and finds himself at Lord Funt hospital, a place run by terrifying porters and wicked matrons. However, when he meets four other patients in the children’s ward, things get exciting.

 

The Witches

by Roald Dahl

Puffin

Real witches disguise themselves as lovely ladies, when secretly they want to squish and squelch all the wretched children they despise.

 

Matilda

by Roald Dahl and Quentin Blake

Puffin

This modern fairy-tale with a brilliantly inspiring young heroine is one of Roald Dahl’s best loved stories.

 

The Borrowers

by Mary Norton

Puffin

The Borrowers are tiny people who live in the secret places of old houses – behind the mantlepiece, inside the harpsichord, under the kitchen clock.

 

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

by C S Lewis

HarperCollins Children’s

When Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy – step through a wardrobe door in the strange country house where they are staying, they find themselves in the land of Narnia.

 

The Story of Tracy Beaker

by Jacqueline Wilson

Random House

Tracy lives in a children’s home but constantly hopes that her absent, glamorous Mum will come and take her away.

 

The Butterfly Lion

by Michael Morpurgo

HarperCollins Publishers

Bertie rescues an orphaned white lion cub from the African veld. They are inseparable until Bertie is sent to boarding school far away in England and the lion is sold to a circus.

 

Aesop’s Fables

by Aesop

Penguin Books Ltd

Aesop’s celebrated collection of fables has always been popular with both adults and children. These simple tales embody truths so powerful that the titles of the individual fables – the fox and the grapes, the dog in the manger, the wolf in sheep’s clothing and many others – have entered the languages and idioms of most European tongues.

 

The Falcon’s Malteser

by Anthony Horowitz

Walker Books Ltd

When a dwarf comes into the office and leaves a package, Tim Diamond, the world’s worst private-detective, is faced with his toughest case yet. The office is ransacked and the package is found to contain simply a box of Maltesers. Who was the dwarf …and why was he murdered shortly after his visit?

 

The Jungle Book

by Rudyard Kipling

Penguin Books Ltd

From the moment a little naked cub wanders into the lair of Father Wolf and Mother Wolf to the moment when the master of the jungle returns to his own people, Mowgli’s adventures comprise a fable of human life.

 

War Horse

by Michael Morpurgo

In War Horse, award-winning children’s author Michael Morpurgo allows readers to understand the horror of the First World War by recounting the experiences of a farm horse who is commandeered to join the front line.

 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (and the Harry Potter Series)

by J K Rowling

Bloomsbury Children’s Books

After the misery of life with his ghastly aunt and uncle, Harry Potter is delighted to have the chance to embark on an exciting new life at the Hogwart’s School of Wizardry and Witchcraft.

 

The Firework Maker’s Daughter

by Phillip Pullman

Random House Children’s Publishers UK

What Lila wants to be more than anything else in the world is …a Firework-Maker! But firework-making is not just about being able to make Crackle-Dragons and Golden Sneezes. There is also one special secret: every Firework-Maker must make a perilous journey to face the terrifying Fire-Fiend!

 

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

by Lewis Carroll

Penguin Books Ltd

When Alice follows the White Rabbit down a rabbit hole, she finds herself in an enchanted world, filled with creatures like the Mad Hatter, the disappearing Cheshire Cat, and the Queen of Hearts. Alice quickly finds out that nothing is as it seems in the wild world of Wonderland…

 

The Little Prince

by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Egmont

An air pilot makes a forced landing deep in the Sahara Desert. There, he makes a mysterious Little Prince, who tells him a series of wise and enchanting stories.